Opinion Poll: Proliferation of Prefbricated Parts

So Hopefully everyone tunes into the mild humor of my title; This isn’t meant to be a bashing topic, or a rant or any such thing, simply my personal opinion and concern that I have.

I’m a veteran of FIRST from East Islip Team 311 and West Islip Team 871 (NY), back in 2005, so while I haven’t been around since THE BEGINNING I’ve been around the block. I’ve been very lucky to be part of teams where the students are the real designers, idea pushers.

We (as mentors) have always attempted to guide our students to the best possible solutions, teaching them the various sciences (and arts!) of engineering. One of the hardest things we have to do is learn to let them make mistakes. Sometimes a mechanism looks like it will work, but then at the last minute wont. An experienced FIRSTer can probably stave off these kinds of mistakes early on, but should we? Don’t we know these mistakes because we ourselves have made them? Engineering is not “Do all the right things and make a cool widget” It’s about the hundred (or thousand) failed attempts that got you to where you were, that helped you UNDERSTAND why widget X simply can’t do thing Y.

So on to my real question:

How does everyone feel about the sudden Proliferation of Purchasable, Prefabricated Parts (P4 for all you DoD acronym lovers like me)?

Look at AndyMark and you can practically build a 100% functional compete-able robot just by buying prefabricated chassis, loaders, lifers, arms, grabbers. It caught my attention today, as I was looking for teflon track slides that my mechanical team has requested, that “loader assembly” and “Rhino Track” have been sold out; High demand for complex parts huh? So I looked further and discovered complete prefabricated assemblies for mech chassis, tank drive chassis, lazy Susans, swerve drive(?!).