Optical Sensors Used as Encoders?

I’m sure on past robots teams have tried to use their optical sensors as an encoder by placing bits of reflective tape on a wheel/sprocket and counting the number of times a sensor mounted to read the pieces of tape was ‘activated’ (I’m not a programmer so I don’t exactly know the correct terms).

Our team is considering pursuing this idea once we uncrate our robot at regionals, having the programs pre-written. We are planning on putting 8 evenly spaced pieces of reflective tape on the rims of our back wheels, and mounting two optical sensors to appropriately interact with the pieces.

I was wondering if any teams in the past have had success (or lack of) with this procedure, and if so, what the optimal setup(s) are (tape spacing, distance from sensor to wheel, etc…). Our programmers are very good at what they do, so I don’t think that will be a problem. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

we put 2 pieces of tape on the black couplings between the motor and the gear box, and we have one banner sensor on each side. lol we just need the code, because it works perfctly electricly… the light blink, the osiliscope has a beutifull trace. i was planing on using intrupts to count revolutions, and then every 10 program loops compare counts and adust PWMs accordingly. if you find any good code PLEASE post! thanks

I dont think this use of tape is allowed by the rules. Last year we used some white paint on a black gear. This year we drilled holes in the gear and put an aluminum plate behind the hole opposite the sensor. It works very well (and we took some weight off doing that :))

As for code… Wire the sensors to interrupts (digital pins 1 and 2). You can find some examples in the IR beacon tracker code. Last year I polled the sensors every program cycle and it did not work too well (not fast enough). The interrupt method works perfectly.

And dont forget to use the normally high output of the sensors