Our team is currently using Fusion and inventor, should we switch to something easier to use?

Our team has been using inventor for the past two years and we recently started using fusion, that being said their has been some discussion in team meetings about using Onshape and I was just curious as to what other teams have decided to do.

Most teams on CD are using Onshape.

Source: What cad software do people use in 2022?

I personally think it’s the far-and-away best option for many reasons that you can find rehashed on many threads.

3 Likes

Team’s I’ve been with have switched to Onshape for multiple reasons. I personally love the learning resources and that designs are very open. As a computer scientist, I love their version control, it makes iterating designs super helpful. I’ve found the FRC onshape community to be very open and engaging.

Seconding @RickyRobot, I think you might want to search for some threads about Onshape, there is a lot of good ones on here.

4 Likes

Honestly just start using onshape. For frc its by far the best. The free learning, the endless resources, the best collaboration, ability to run on students laptops.
The only downside at all really, is its not the industry standard yet. But it gives you a good enough understanding of cad that when you go to college and start using solidworks, you’ll know enough that it wont be hard to get famiar with a new program. And it doesnt have cam, but you can export parts as a dwg or dxf or step or whatever to a cam program and youre good.

3 Likes

Inventor is totally fine for FRC. Fusion’s modeling is a bit limited and constrained. OnShape is a bit different but for teams that have CAD teams of greater than 1-2 people, the benefits of the browser based editor and the cloud based document control far, far outweigh the drawbacks over Inventor or Solidworks.