Out of bounds... -- copy of posting in General

Posted by Joe Johnson.   [PICTURE: SAME | NEW | HELP]

Engineer on team #47, Chief Delphi, from Pontiac Central High School and Delphi Automotive Systems.

Posted on 10/20/2000 1:18 PM MST

: Question:
: If your team picks up the rack and ‘carries’ it to your teams side and you happen to swing the rack out of bounds (but you are still holding onto it and you are in bounds) will you be disqualified?

: Answer:
: Disqualification is not even an issue in this situation. Disabling is a possibility but not Disqualification.

: Now to the specifics. If your robot applies force to the ground outside the field, your robot is subject to being disabled. If it applies that force via a ball or its arm or the square rack it is all the same with respect to this rule.

: If the square rack is touching the ground outside the field at the end of the match, it will not count as a doubler.

: Clear?

: Joe J.