paper: Calculating for Requirements: a Systems Engineer's Mechanical Calculator

Thread created automatically to discuss a document in CD-Media.

Calculating for Requirements: a Systems Engineer’s Mechanical Calculator
by: JesseK

A complex, but powerful, calculator

Ever hear
“You’re going to power the lift with THAT little thing?”
“Why did you choose that ratio?”
“Gear it for speed, we can slow it down in software.”
–or my favorite from my fellow mentors in 2008, prior to Atlanta–
“It’s ok to take 2 CIMs off of the drive train and put them on our lift”
???

Well I’ve heard it. Simple calculators and “experience” hasn’t been enough to convince some of my fellow mentors to some things I’d seen work before. Even I had quite the case of foot-in-mouth this season because it just didn’t seem feasible for a small object to climb a pole in under 2 seconds using the crappy motors we had. I’m not a mechanical guy, and this stuff doesn’t come naturally. So I was driven to find answers, backed by data that is reasonably accurate. Thus I present my calculator. As for accuracy … well, it’s reasonably accurate to the many videos I’ve watched, anecdotes from here on CD, and all of the robots I’ve helped develop.

It’s complicated, and will take some time to learn every ‘feature’ it has. However, it has 4 major purposes:

1.) Make the calculator Print friendly. Only a specific area of each worksheet will print. This is for communication purposes.
2.) Show outputs that are from the perspective of the strategy requirement, Time.
3.) Have a way to annotate boundary conditions and decisions into the worksheet. Notes, shapes, and built-in graph features facilitate decision-making AND traceability.
4.) Serve as a teaching tool in the Fall. Over the summer I’ll add an equations sheet that shows the derivations of the equations.

Hope someone finds it useful, somewhere. Enjoy!

Wishlist:
“Drag Race” of historical robots
Create a trajectory sheet