paper: Semantic robotics for FRC competitions

Thread created automatically to discuss a document in CD-Media.

Semantic robotics for FRC competitions
by: nathanww

Semantic robotics is a technology being developed by team 1678 in order to develop more reliable and effective control systems. This paper serves as a guide to the basic principals of semantic robotics.

see summary

semantic robotics.ppt (562 KB)

Interesting ideas, thanks for sharing.

I’m curious about the Mechanical Turk prototype.

“Mechanical Turk” prototype

• Based mostly on existing Lemon Squeeze hardware
  • Challenge:Navigate to a given Cartesian coordinate in a room, avoiding obstacles.
  • Will be used to test integration of human processing(identifying obstacles) with computer processing(odometry, route planning)

How does human processing integrate with computer processing ?

Thank you for posting this!

This is definitely a novel way of looking at things in FRC. I work in the artificial intelligence field, and one constant source of frustration is when people want to fit the square peg of automation into the round hole of problems that are currently better solved by human reasoning. Yes, without at least trying we won’t advance the state of the art in AI, but at the same time people seem to be keen on taking humans out of the loop for no convincing technical reason. Case in point: much current research seeks to make currently teleoperated UAVs fully autonomous. But each UAV needs a ground crew of probably 50 people to stay operational; is eliminating the one pilot really the lowest hanging fruit? Play to the strengths of each part of the team! But I digress…