People's opinions..

I graduated from high school last year, going to a local college here since I really don’t feel the urge to move out of town. Now, with it being January I decided to stop by my old High School to help out with the Robotics program this year, since we all know you can’t just stay away from FIRST :smiley: . Well, I was just wondering if the current people here would have a problem with someone who graduated coming back and helping out on the team as a mentor? Guiding the younger people who are just coming into the program, and letting them know exactly what a great thing this is (it’s so great i’m out of school and still feeling the urge to spend those late late nights building and problem solving.)

not a problem at all - esp since you are going to college now

lots of teams have college student mentors - only restriction on you now is you are one of us (mentor) - not a student team member - you would not be able to participate on the team during the matches (cant be the driver or human player…).

BTW as a mentor you are still in the position where FIRST is a privaledge, not a right - Im senseing maybe there is some issue with the team, maybe you are feeling pushed back for some reason?

Talk to the mentors - get their opinion - officially college students ARE welcome to be mentors - but if you feel you have to justify your participating with the other adults on the team, you will have to work that out with them.

Also, some teams are sponsored by one business, and they only accept mentors from that organization (for liability and other reasons) - if your team falls into that catigory, you can be a mentor for another team in your area

and FIRST is ALWAYS looking for volunteers for regional events!

PS: Welcome back! :^)

Team 217 has two mentors (One of them me) that graduated and came back to help. We also have graduates that mentor on other teams like Purdue.