pic: 4242 Preliminary CAD 1

Team 4242’s preliminary CAD. Elevator with a ramp on the back for delivering totes from the chute to other bots consistently. Ramp isn’t done yet and there’s an extra sprocket in there. Please feel free to tear it apart or tell us something we haven’t thought of yet!

I really like the ramp idea. How much have you prototyped that/ how well does it work?

Have you done a stress analysis of this yet? I don’t know the material used, but looking at the design, the thought that when you try to lift a stack of totes, your elevator at the top might begin to bend depending on a few factors. I’m a programmer, though. Take this with a grain of salt.

I’d suggest making your elevator car a little taller to space the carrier wheels out further. This will decrease the chances of having any sag in your manipulator when you have a full stack.

You have a valid point, programmer. ::rtm::

It would all depend on the material being used, and the orientation it was being used in. Also, how high the support from the back is up the side rails would be important.

I did some calculations with an engineer, and we figured it out that the maximum load the robot (assuming 6 tote or 5 tote bucket and noodle capabilities) would be holding, cantilevered at 6’ in the air, would be ~400 foot pounds…

Make sure your material is all good and the supports will hold it and you should be set. :yikes:

Given the configuration of this robot, what does the CoG look like at that point? It seems like you’d have to have a fairly hefty counterbalance to keep it from faceplanting.

That was really my only fear for robots this year as far as damage; could they handle the torque of picking up a stack of n totes + the bin and not get deformed over the course of the season?

Side note: I think demos of robots this year will actually be pretty cool if they can either lift a lot of weight, or stack autonomously, or both.