Or the right place, depending on who you are asking.
That wouldn’t invalidate a climb would it?
Depending on how you want to call it, it might actually move the robot up a couple of levels… though I don’t think this was a strategy to inhibit.
Makes sense. Accidentally getting a frisbee stuck under a robot != throwing a frisbee and hitting a robot with a climb in progress.
couldn’t the red alliance get a foul for the disk or the blue get a 30 pt climb points?
unless i am mistaken, if the ref deemed it intentional blue would be rewarded a 30 point climb.
I remember this match, I was on the red alliance. All of the refs came out and spent around 5 minutes determining if it was/was not a valid climb. It ended up being called as an unintentional disc throw and 4797 received no climbing points. But this match got replayed due to field comm issues throughout the match.
Match reply aside, that seems like a weird decision to me. If the robot is off the ground (contacting a disc, but not the field), how could that be invalid.
The climb was ruled valid, it was our climb that was ruled invalid because we had something hanging off the bot and touching the ground. 4797’s counted, our argument was that an opponents hp throw is not allowed to interfere with the climb. It didn’t end up making a difference in the score anyway and the match was replayed for field issues regardless. Looking back maybe we should have gotten credit for a 30 point climb, but then again there was far from any intent to it by the red alliance.
Ah got it, misunderstood the first time around.
I was going to say that according to <g30>, in order for the climbing team to get the 50 penalty+climb points, It doesn’t have to intentional, it has to be either purposeful or consequential, but then I reread the rules and saw that it only governs robot-robot interactions.
the climb should count, because no rules say it has to be fully supported by the pyramid. the red alliance should receive no penalties since they did nothing against the rules, intentional or not.
The applicable rule here is G16, but G16 does NOT invalidate a climb, even if the disc was used to aid it. G16 implies only two things:
If you are off the floor, and performed a legal climb, the climb counts, no matter what.
If the referee determines the disc placement was a strategy employed by either alliance, somebody gets a Tech Foul. A 30pt climb is also awarded if opponents inhibited the climb.
Remember folks, a legal climb only requires sequential contact and not contacting more than 2 levels at once. Like Leav said, support by the pyramid is not part of climb legality.
This results in the following possible rulings for discs affecting climbs:
Ruling A) The disc was strategically used by Red to *inhibit *the Blue climb, therefore G16 was violated. Blue receives credit for a Level 3 climb, and Red receives a Tech Foul. (Frankly, with that disc placement I don’t see how anyone can claim it’s anything but a coincidence/lucky shot)
Ruling B) The disc was strategically used by Red to *aid *the Blue climb, therefore G16 was violated. Red receives a Tech Foul, but because it did not *inhibit *the Blue climb, Blue gets points for a Level 1 climb, because they legally climbed and the lowest point of their robot is in Level 1. (Again, the disc placement in question seems to defy any “strategic” connotations).
Ruling C) The disc was strategically used by Blue to *aid *the Blue climb, therefore G16 was violated. Blue receives a Tech Foul for *aiding *their climb, but Blue *still *gets points for a 10pt climb, because they legally climbed and the lowest point of their robot is in Level 1. (This one is really hard to justify as a strategy given the disc color in question, but depending on the circumstances could be relevant).
Ruling D) The disc was not used strategically by anyone to affect a climb, therefore G16 was not violated. Blue gets points for a 10pt climb, because they legally climbed and the lowest point of their robot is in Level 1.
It’s a funny area where the climb was affected by the disc, but in this case I don’t think there was any “strategy” to do so, so no rules are broken by doing so. Therefore, IMHO, the climb still counts and no fouls are awarded.
Idk, I like the way the logo is correctly facing and perfect placement of a dropped / landed frisbee lol. Def. a once in a life time thing - doubt it will be repeated.