pic: How's this?

What is your opinion on what I made?

BTW, this is a 2012 Texas Robot Roundup teaser…

All the aluminum is 1/8" thick, 6061 T-6
The 8" FIRST shell is sitting on a 1/2" keyed shaft with AM hubs
That is spun by 2 Fisherprice 9015 on Banebots P60’s 4:1
The shaft is supported buy the two inside pieces of C channel extrusion with bearings set in the wall.
Next is a shaft coupler to attatch it to the P60’s, which are mounted between the walls of another C channel extrusion.
The ball compression is about 1.5"-2"
The camera mount IS 1/8" sheet metal.

This is my first time using sheet metal like this so I’m not sure about the best thickness to use.

The disk is used for a tachometer. There is a Rockwell Automation Photo sensor under the left P60.

The hood is made of the AM hex tube from the chassis kit, space about 1"

Any details? Motors, gearboxes, wheel diameter, wheel material, compression, hood material, range, anything else you’re willing to share?

Also, looks great! I like the design.

Will the hood be lined with something (i.e. lexan, sheetmetal)? If only the bars are there, I foresee a lot of balls getting chewed up.

nice work with the similar shapes. Mind giving us a BOM and telling us all parts we might have issues seeing in the pic if any?

also, is the half black and half white wheel just a finger guard made to look cool when spinning or what?

It looks like your using threaded aluminum hex bars as the cross members in the back. If this is the case, you could probably accomplish the same thing with a much lighter piece, made from (more) sheet-metal or lexan + a few key brackets.

How thick is the metal on that camera mount? Seems a bit overkill… anything over 0.063" is much too much.

In general, how thick is the metal you’re using?

Are those pieces of extrusion mounting the motor? Mounting the wheel bearings? It looks like some clever refinement could eliminate a number of parts / lighten parts in that section.