pic: Ringer Supported by Both Spider and Stinger



I know it was mentioned in the past (pic: Test Rack Stinger Detail - CD-Media: Photos - Chief Delphi), but was the issue ever resolved? If a ringer is supported by both the stinger and the spider, as shown here, will it count? Is this even possible with the real field, during real game play? I don’t have access to Q&A, so I can’t ask FIRST myself.

I believe that it does not count, i remember reading that the ringer must be fully supported by the spider leg. But if someone else finds otherwise, please post.

Good question! The relevant Game Definition for HANGING is “…its’ weight is fully supported by a SPIDER LEG…”. In your example you could make a case (albeit a rather reaching one) that the RINGER is at least partially supported by the STINGER. However, in the real world of FIRST, I think that the referees would call it scored if the RINGER is touching the SPIDER LEG.

I have noticed the tubing first had was alot stiffer then the stuff they told us to buy.

Where are you guys hiding this (partial) rack? I was there this morning, and I didn’t see this. :wink:

This is 122’s rack, not 612’s. I’m at ODU in Norfolk, and I’m helping out 122 (NASA Knights) in Hampton.

does anyone know the dimentions of the stinger? we tried to find it but failed.

The stinger sticks out 4" from the top of the end plate. Look at the rack sub-assembly documentation (http://www2.usfirst.org/2007comp/Drawings/2007_Field_Rack/2007%20Field_Rack_Sub_Assemblies_R-.pdf) for more info.