pic: Spectrum Fall 2013 Drivetrain

After seeing 488’s prototype all gear drivetrain, I started playing around with the concept. Thank you to Madison and everyone in those threads, they gave me a lot of ideas. We are working on a fall prototype robot and this will likely be the starting the point.

10 Wheel drive (6 VEXpro Traction Wheels & 4 VersaWheels). 1.5" wide traction wheels can fit if needed.

VEXpro Ball Shifter drives a 45 tooth gear into 60 tooth gears on the wheels. Idlers are 1 45 tooth and 2 60 tooth WCP Dog Gears. This ends up with adjusted speeds of 15.35fps & 6.76fps (JVN’s Calc). It would be possible to swap the 45 tooth gears for 35 tooth gears if you wanted to go slower; the inner wheels would have to come in but the bolts should still clear the sides of the gearbox.

All the sheet metal is .09 5052. Chassis is 28 x 27.6.

Gearboxes can drop out of the bottom, but you will have to take off two of the wheels one each side to undo the bolts.

All the dead axles are VEXpro tube stock. That means the VEXpro gears have to be drilled out to clear the axles.

I haven’t added any patterns to lighten this yet, that won’t happen till we know what is going to mount to it.

A few suggestions…

1. Consider direct driving the center wheel from the gearbox. There’s really no reason not to and it virtually guarantees that regardless of what might break elsewhere on the drive system (short of the gearbox itself) you’ll always have one working wheel. It’s also a good way to help balance the robots weight. Team 703 has done this for several years and its worked great.

2. Consider vertically offsetting the outer wheels from the center one. Doing this greatly improved the robots ability to turn. In the past when we used large numbers of wheels in our drive, we would position the wheels on an arc of something like ~30ft, it worked well because it could turn on a dime, but in a pushing match you’d always have at least 4 wheels on the floor.