pic: Team 1114 - Simbot SS

Team 1114’s 2008 robot, Simbot SS. By far our fastest and simplest creation to date.

It was amazing at Midwest. So, I gotta ask…

What powers the launcher?

What powers drive? What speed? Is the robot underweight?

Also, can you explain the teaser? :wink:

Those who haven’t seen the video of this thing should check it out on the blue alliance.

1114 has done it again. Look out Einstein, here they come.

Jason

As I commented in another thread, the best way I could ever see to describe your amazingly simple robot came to my from the quote bar:

“… simple things can amaze me.” - Andy Baker

Since I’m a programmer, I’d love to add to Adam’s questions (please? :)):

How much feedback to you have to control the drive train? The arm/grabebr mechanism?

How do you control the Hybrid mode? What commands does the Robo-coach (if used, but I assume you do) give?

Thanks, and congratulations on building an incredible robot. I hope I / we can go to Atlanta this year, if just to stare at your (and others, of coutse) robot(s).

hmmm… It resembles 217 in no way watsoever… I guess the rumors were rumors…

All the same. That things amazing.

wow… so simple, yet so effective. just watched the finals on the blue alliance, and all i can say is wow…

can anyone enlighten me on how their shooter works? all i can tell from the pics is that its very thin and pokey.

I watched some videos, and the pokey thing goes out very fast, and then retracts quite slowly. im assuming thats a characteristic exhibited by some sort of windup/retraction system with some sort of tensioning/launching system (if it were pure pneumatics, for example, it should have retracted just as fast)

Me: Karthik, can I see the robot?
Karthik: NO.

Like others have asked, please elaborate on your shooting mechanism. If you can share close pictures of your mechanism, it would be much appreciated.

The names says it all. Simbot-“simple”