pic: Team 116 Modular Control System

The control system for ED v6.0 for 2005. When closed up and placed in the robot, the electronics box is 7" x 8" x 13". The fans on the top and bottom turn the inner volume into a wind tunnel, with airflow across every component. The entire system can be removed from the robot in 30 seconds. Just disconnect the battery, unplug two power cable harnesses, unplug two sensor cable harnesses, and open two cabinet latches to mechanically detach it from the robot frame. Once removed, pop off the lid and the entire box opens on hinges to fold flat for servicing on the workbench (or in the pits).

WHOA. Just, WHOA. :ahh:

That is without a doubt the niftiest electrical “board” I’ve seen… awesome job, Dave and team.

Darn NASA people and their ideas :smiley:
Actually, my bet is a 116 student came up with it.
Dave, this is great stuff. I’ve been collecting ideas for a new (2006) rookie team at my school. This puppy is going on the list. My only question is, Can your robot place tetras and deliver Krispy Kremes to team mentors in autonomous mode?

I would love to know how that works out… especially with the heat issue…

Does look like you got that covered, what a neat way to make sure aluminum filings dont get in the victors!

When I see stuff like that, sometimes I say, “That’s BRILLIANT, why didn’t I think of that?”

But I never like the answer.

I guess we’ll just have to think of a brilliant design like that for next year. Thank you for sharing the idea… it really is a good one.

Looks great! We tried one of those this year, but unfortunately it was built and designed by a couple of freshmen. Needless to say, it wasn’t the most beautiful thing I’ve seen. It didn’t even fit into our frame. We were going to call it the Brain Box. (I think it’s pretty catchy:D ) Good luck and I hope to see ya guys at nats.