pic: Team 955's take on 4 speeds (back)

Just another look…

Looks very nice. Great job.

one question, How are you planning on securing the Fisher price motor? is it just hanging there? or is there something I am missing?

Another thing (probably i cant see it just because of the plates), is there any shaft inside that transmission that are going through 3 bearings? If yes, then its bad.

great job on keepinging the transmission about 5 pounds.

-Arefin.

Edit - I am not an Engineer YET. But from my understanding of making a transmission, I would say, try to make the transmission and put everything (gears, motors, shafts, bearings, bushings) between 2 plates and not 3.

I was just going to say the same thing. Plus the CIM. Two easily corrected problems that could spell huge trouble if you don’t do anything.

-That shaft must be supported on all three points, hence the three bearings…
-Our inventor guy was just too lazy to add the motor mounts. :smiley:
-Can’t reveal everything :cool:

I am not going to support you on this one, just because of the fact the shaft will bind if you are runing it between 3 plates with 3 bearings. But overall design is good. I still would like to know how are you mounting the motors.

-Arefin.

Having a shaft supported by three bearings is like an over-constraint. The only way you should even consider doing this is if you are certain you can keep tolerances to around .0004 (yes 4 ten-thousandths) and trust me, that is not an easy thing to do, even on a CNC.

Will it work with three bearings on a shaft? Yes. Will it bind and cause a loss of efficiency? Yes.

Is there really much use for a 4-speed transmission this year? Surely there’s not going to be so much variance in field conditions that you’ll want or need to shift that much on a field as small as this one…