PID control loop/Encoder question

Hey guys, I’m a programmer for a rookie team. We’re going to try to use Digikey encoders to help with velocity control. I’ve seen a few websites that help, like:

http://www.barello.net/Papers/Motion_Control/index.htm

http://nrg.chaosnet.org/repository/viewcode?id=0

Once I’ve figured out the error between requested speed and actual speed, I don’t really understand what commands I would send to the motors to make the proper adjustments. Could anyone explain how that would work? Any help is appreciated.

If you use my code at the repository that you mentioned above, all that you have to do is call this function from your Default_Routine(). As in:

/* set actualLeft and actualRight to values from two encoders */
/* all other default routine code here */
pwm01=PID(left,actualLeft,&actualLeftLast,&sumLeft);
pwm02=PID(right,actualRight,&actualRightLast,&sumRight);

Then, place this in the global vars section:

int left=127, right=127;
int actualLeft,actualRight;
int actualRightLast=127,actualLeftLast=127;
int sumLeft=0,sumRight=0;

All code above assumes that left motors are pwm01, and right are pwm02.

I’m in the middle of writing an “Advanced Programming Guide” and when I’m done it’ll be at the NRG website (see my sig), under “Resources.” I’ll be sure to include details about PID and encoders.

well, the PID control loop code you saw on the NRG repository essentially accepts a requested (nominal) PWM value, and the actual PWM value (in your case, from the encoder) - the second two variables are just for storage (note, you could just declare these in the function as static variables instead of declaring them elsewhere and passing them as arguments). It then returns the value that the PWM should be set to. It’s essentially that simple - call it with those two values, and set the pwm variable to the return value of the function.