PID Control

I’m new to PID controlling, and am looking to learn. Anyone have a suggestion as to where to start?

As far as I understand, it seems as if a PID is to verify that a variable is actually where it’s supposed to be by checking, such as rotational velocity with a motor and an encoder or angle with a drivetrain and a gyro, etc. Is that right?

Not PID but very useful for controls for autonomous mode.

http://www.wildstang.org/main/stangps.php

Unless I missed something, I don’t think I saw anything about PID in that presentation. Very informative though.

Wikipedia has a rather helpful article on the subject. Even has some pseudo-code to look over:

previous_error = 0
integral = 0 
start:
  error = setpoint - actual_position
  integral = integral + (error*dt)
  derivative = (error - previous_error)/dt
  output = (Kp*error) + (Ki*integral) + (Kd*derivative)
  previous_error = error
  wait(dt)
  goto start

PID stands for Proportional-Integral-Derivative
Each is a “term” and the result of each is added to get the motor motion or change.
Proportional is, well, proportional to the difference between where you are and where you want to be. Basically, you say error = want - at, and then multiply that by a constant that testing reveals to be correct (the highest number without too much overshoot). Integral is the integration (sum) of the already corrected error, and gives the offset that should have been previously corrected.Derivative adjusts the rate of change by determining the slope of the error, the rate of change. This helps to even out noise.