Pneumatics question: Can I have 2 solenoids going to the same piston?

Question is pretty straightforward as to what I want to do; is it possible to have two solenoids go to the same piston? What I want to achieve is to place a regulator/Needle Valve on one to limit the speed it extends/retracts with. They should not be fired at the same time. All I want to know is will this work? Thanks!
-Aidan

I believe this would violate R814 (Don’t connect solenoid outputs together).

Sorry, should have made this clearer; this is for an Offseason project - Not on the actual robot. Would connecting them be excessively dangerous/bad? I trust our software team to make sure they don’t both fire at the same time. Specifically I used the example of a piston - but this would rather be used for shooting T Shirts with different forces, so not a piston but still using a solenoid.

Oh, OK. I’ll take my yellow hat off, then. :slight_smile:

I’m not a mechanical expert, but I think the intent of the rule is to prevent you from double-powering pistons.

If you did this, I think you would want to put the secondary regulator upstream of the solenoid. You might also want to think about using a variable-flow/proportional solenoid instead.

1 Like

We built a T-shirt shooting tank robot last year. We ended up just using an analog pressure sensor and having the operator manually stop the compressor at the desired pressure.

We looked for an electronic pressure regulator, but couldn’t find anything viable. Then we tried a manual regulator and a motor to turn the dial. In the end, the regulator sets a safe max pressure, but the operator found it easier to just run manually.

You should be able to use flow regulators on the cylinder ports with a single solenoid to accomplish what you’ve described, and that would be FRC legal.
We’ve done it on intake actuation mostly, and usually asymmetric.

1 Like