Positive and Negative Experiences within FIRST Robotics survery

Hi there y’all! My name is Kiri Nakagawa (she/they) and I’m a first-year UW student/FIRST alum of FRC team 2412, the Robototes, in Bellevue, WA.

I am conducting a survey for my Data Science in the Humanities and Culturally Responsive STEM Teaching classes on the Positive and Negative experiences within FIRST Robotics.

This survey is targeted at anyone who is on, has been on, mentored, or volunteered with FIRST. It takes about 5-10 minutes depending on how much detail you want to add but please fill it out and share it with others if you can.

IT IS ALSO COMPLETELY ANONYMOUS UNLESS YOU ARE COMFORTABLE WITH SHARING YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION WITH ME SO I CAN POTENTIALLY REACH OUT FOR MORE INFORMATION/DISCUSSION!

I want to give people a chance to share their thoughts and experiences anonymously, especially with the recent conversations here, regarding sexism and abuse working with VEX/IFI. I am curious to see how many people have experienced similar things within FIRST.

Please feel free to add as much or as little detail as you are comfortable with. If you would like to contact me to discuss or ask questions about this project, my discord is @krispehkiwi#3602 or my Instagram is also @krispehkiwi.

Here’s the link and thank you for reading this far! https://forms.gle/4zhfTBuypYU4Bo5eA

5 Likes

As a professional scientist and an occasional academic, there are quite a few warning bells in my head about this. Despite the fact that this is clearly human research, classroom assignments do fall under a weird gray area. They are typically allowed if they are not intended to collect data that will be disseminated beyond the class and have little to no potential for harm.