Pressure Angles

" Pressure angle affects the force that tends to separate mating gears. High pressure angle decreases the contact ratio but provides a tooth of higher capacity and allows gears to have fewer teeth without undercutting."

By what factor are 20PA gears stronger than 14.5?

Also, what is the formula to calculate the max force on a gear?

I’m far from a gear expert, so I’m hoping Dr. Joe shows up in this thread at some point, but to get you started, 20deg PA gears are something like 14 to 18 percent stronger, going by these formulae I’m about to give you. The easiest ones to use are at Martin Gears:

http://www.martinsprocket.com/2001/SecGc.pdf#G83

This is not a simple question to answer.

Yes, in general, 14.5 degree PA teeth are weaker than 20 deg PA teeth, but unless the number of teeth are small (under 14 if you are looking for a rule of thumb) the difference is not huge.

Higher pressure angles are a generally good thing but not always. In the area of sound some folks claim they can get better sounding gears with lower pressure angles.

The major benefit of using higher pressure angles is that it reduces undercut for small gears.

To first order, you can get a good estimate of the strength of the tooth by approximating the tooth as beam and estimating what force the bending stress at the thinnest section of the tooth would exceed your material stress.

There are other places on these fora where these calculations are discussed. I don’t have time right now to search for them, but I hope someone will and link to them.

Joe J.

I could only find one formula, on this thread:
http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30447&highlight=pressure+angle

However the formulas from Martin are great!

And i just learned about www.matweb.com for all sorts of great material info