printf

im a noob and need a quick overview on how to call prinfs

thx

you type in printf(“Hello World”); and that should do it.

other examples

int i = 120;

printf(“Hello %d World”,i);

Output: Hello 120 World

"you type in printf("Hello World); and that should do it.

That won’t do it, you forgot closing quotes.
printf(“this gets printed: first number = %d, second number here= %d\r”,first_number, second_number);

When it sees the %, it prints the first_number, then the words agian till it sees the next %,… The %d is a format descriptor, there is %s for strings,… google on printf format.

And be sure to do an #include “stdio.h”

If you used the default installation paths, then look in “C:\MCC18\docs” and you’ll find four PDF files. The ‘MPLAB-C18-Libraries.pdf’ file contains documentation on the included libraries. Section 4.7 covers the character output functions.

nice catch

While that will work, technically you should use #include <stdio.h> :cool:

confusion my come from the fact that ifi code contains a printf as well. see printf_lib.h and .c files. stdio.h implies using the printf routine in clib. use one or the other but not both.

printf is fun! It allows a lot of feedback, and i know we’d be stuck without them. Heres a few samples, straight from our code:

printf("Joystick 1 Y-axis: %d	 Joystick 1 Trigger: %d\r", left_joy, p1_sw_trig);
 	printf("Relay 1 Forward: %d	 Relay 1 Reverse: %d\r", relay1_fwd, relay1_rev);
	printf("Left Wheel: %d 	Right Wheel: %d \r", left_motor, right_motor);

printfs can really help you do anything. just be sure to # include <stdio.h>

Also, be sure to add "
" at the end of each printf. Otherwise, the terminal fills with unreadable text and you have to disable it to read it.

Like so:

printf("Hello World!
");

On the topic, can someone describe to me what all the calls mean? /r, /n, d%, %3d, etc?

Always been a mystery to me… I just copy pasta typically.

\r - return character, moves cursor to beginning of current line.