Program deployed, no response from robot

Hi, I’m a rookie this year, and I’m having trouble with the confusing documentation that we get. So far we’ve got the basic build done and the radio hooked up to the cRIO. We’ve had some networking problems as far as wireless goes, so we just use a long ethernet connection(we’ll deal with one problem at a time).

I have been able to deploy the default RobotMain.vi program as-is to the robot. We’re programming on the classmate so in order to get to the Driver Station we have to disconnect from the cRIO and switch user to Driver. After a lot of troubleshooting we have been able to get the DS to recognize the cRIO and that it has robot code. It also recognizes one of our joysticks. However, enabling the program doesn’t do anything (in any mode). In the error box it mentions something about a while loop taking too long(I can’t remember exactly right now, i’ll edit this tomorrow when I’m back at school). The jaguars also keep flashing yellow no matter what we do.

1. Does anyone know how to get the program working?
  2. Should I image our cRIO? We had it imaged on the kickoff so I don’t know if it’s the latest or not.
  3. Should I install a newer Driver Station?
  4. Should I install drivers for the Logitech Attack 3 joystick?
  5. Slightly unrelated: Is there a good place to learn how to program the cRIO using LabVIEW? Not just the language itself but to control the robot.

Check your ribbon cable going from your cRIO and your sidecar. This year some of the cables have been messed up. Follow this guide to fix it.

http://www.usfirst.org/sites/default/files/uploadedFiles/Robotics_Programs/FRC/Game_and_Season__Info/2012_Assets/DB37%20Ribbon%20Cable%20Assembly%20-%20Rework%20Instructions.pdf

You don’t have to switch users. You can run the Driver Station as a Developer.

The jaguars also keep flashing yellow no matter what we do.