programming help needed

Our programmers are having trouble figuring out how to lock onto one light when two of them are on during autonomous! Wondering if any one could help us out, please post if you can!

Krunal,

I was a programmer last year, but this year I’m on electrical/leadership. So while I know in general terms what we’re talking about, I don’t have any specific experience this year with the camera. That being said, here’s my idea: would it be possible (if you find yourself between two lights) to pick one and turn yourself toward it until you can’t see the other one? If your camera is unhappy turning, then try turning the robot.

I’ll think about this more and try to come up with another answer if that doesn’t work for you.

Best wishes,
Paul Dennis

From what I know it only sees the center of (mass, light, whatever) right? Like it will end up somewhere between the two lights. I think someone told me that somewhere in the code, dont take me for certain I havent touched on this problem yet in our code, the camera is takeing the highest, lowest, furthest right, and furthest left points of light. It uses them to find the center. Well I think that perhaps if you wanted a robot to lock onto one specifically, left or right, top or bottom, you could use those points to get it at least closer to the target.

It wont be perfect, but if it works it will probably put the center target at the (right)(left)(top)(bottom) of the target, whatever one you chose. Best I can think of right now. Just look through the camera code to see if you cant find the part that picks out those points and decides on the center. It might take a bit of work, but its not impossible.

Basically, you want to look at the ratio of width (x2-x1) to height (y2-y1). This will tell you if there are two lights.