programming (not sure where to post this)

Ok, I have a simple question and want to say hello Chief Delphi.
First year team, so this is my first time doing this, did a few google and Chief Delphi searches a while ago looking for what programming language i would use (i’m probably going to be our programmer) and couldn’t find anything.
All i know is that it is (according to my teacher/adviser/team leader) “icon/image based” and based on C++.
I found several languages with google, and in the programming section their are several languages, could someone direct me towards whatever language i will be working with and possibly whatever software i will be using so i can mess around with it before the build season?
Thanks for any help or lack of help.

You will most likely use National Instruments LabView. Each year, every team receives a copy of it in their Kit of Parts. A good website to learn about it specifically for FRC is www.frcmastery.com

Or C++. Or Java. All three are supported by FRC electronics.

Labview uses icons; C++ and Java are text-only. None of the three is based on any other one in the three. (However, many concepts may be transferable between programs–but syntax will not be.)

C++ is programed in Wind River workbench

Java is programed in netbeans

LabView is programed in LabView

Thanks, will check it out.

Odd thing is i know what C++ and java are (never used java though, don’t like javascript) and personally like text-based ones better…

Not sure what any of this stuff is other than C++ but i will check it out a little…

I will have to verify that it was icon-based and C++ after the long weekend, will probably be a lurker on here in my free time though.

Thanks for reply’s and/or help.

Congrats on getting started :slight_smile: