Propeller System

Hi, my team (Apple Pi 2067) just finished competing at the Hartford, Connecticut Regional. Our ranking wasn’t the best, but, individually, we did very well. We realized our potential as a defensive robot. We were brainstorming ways to add more pushing power. A fan in the back was one of the ideas. I would like to hear suggestions or feedback from any team that has a propeller on their robot.

Thanks

I’m no expert on Fans but, if you give us some more info we can give you more help. How much weight do you have to spare? What motors are you using? Is your robot long or wide?

As far as what you can use though, I’ve seen some teams using what look to be small airplane propellers, small metal fans like the ones a Bus Driver has, Electric Radiator fans and some other creative things.

Well, I think we are 117 lbs with the bumpers, but we can lower that if we have to, and our robot is wide. We have two motors powering four wheels, but I’m not sure what kind they are.

Team 45 is using a fan very effectively.
PM someone active on here from their team and see what they are willing to share.

The team with THE most effective fans is team 1771. Their fans provide amazing thrust, and they are never pinned. I would talk to someone on their team.

PM Sean, he’s the best.

yeah we did alot of discussion with team 1771 before adding our fans to our robot, which did great at the hartford regional

I desgined our shrouds from a naca(precursor to nasa) paper. The shrouds give us 50% more thrust then just open propellers and they are light wegiht. Both fans and shrouds are 4.5 pounds about.and they give us a 50 % boost in speed and accleration

You saw our propellers at BAE (Team 1729). We were able to pin just about anyone and were not pinned ourselves.

We used two 16" tri-blade Masterscrew 10 pitch propellers each directly driven by CIMs that gave us an additional 9 LBf thrust (basically doubling our thrust).