PWMs on the new roboRio issues

Hey guys… is it just me or does it bug anyone else that we only have 8 PWM ports…

Especially for those of us who wanted complex systems on our robots or customized drive trains such as a swerve drive.

Do any of you know if there is anything being introduced by FIRST to help with the lack of PWM problems?

I can’t live with 8 PWMs, I could barely live with 20

Help guys :’(

We have a swerve drive and don’t use any pwm for it… CAN is something amazing if you use it right.

According to the flyer that can be found here, there will be 20 PWM channels, 10 of them being dedicated. Where did you get the the only 8 number from?

Like Tyler2517 said, there is also the ability to use CAN, and avoid PWM cables all together. That would require CAN capable speed controllers.

Newbie here - can you explain ‘CAN’ please?

Thank You

Its a way that you can control jagwire motor controllers. They have a port on them that looks much like a phone jack. Using the CAN allows for a few fancy sensors to be built in to the system (closed loop PID). It has a lot of problems and is not the most main stream thing.

• i do not compleatly understand it but that’s the best i got…

CAN is an alternate (and some might say better) system for controlling motors. Rather than being a 1-way, 1-cable-per-controller loop like PWM, its a network setup.

The controllers are daisy chained with CAN cables and the last one is terminated to signify the end of the chain. Each controller is assigned a unique ID, and command and control packets are sent with this ID. Only 1 cable leaves the cRIO or roboRIO for all the CAN controllers.

The advantages are more precise control, wiring can be easier, and it allows you to use more of the on-board sensor inputs and outputs from the Jaguar rather than simply setting it to a PWM percentage. You can choose things like set by voltage, current, RPM (with sensors), etc.