I’m not sure if this question has been asked before, but is it allowed for a robot to go under the opponents pyramid if it is not touching it in any way?
You can touch it. You just can’t touch it consequentially, with consequential defined as:
A190: The determination of if an act is consequential or not is determined based on what happens because of the action. For example, if a ROBOT contacts the opponent’s PYRAMID as it drives past it, and no opponent ROBOTS are nearby or affected, the action would be considered inconsequential. If a ROBOT contacts the opponent’s PYRAMID and blocks an opponent’s attempt to CLIMB, it would be considered consequential. Contacting an opponent ROBOT who is contacting its PYRAMID is illegal per [G30].
As you siad the key is not to touch it or another robot that is. Foul if you do.
So as long as we don’t interfere with other robots, we are allowed to drive though the pyramid?
Yes, but understand that whether or not you’re interfering is a judgement call for the refs.
Ok, so lets say that two robots are blocking both sides of their pyramid preventing us from loading. In theory, if the 3rd robot is at the other feeding station, driving through the pyramid wouldn’t net us a penalty?
Unless I’ve missed a pretty major rule, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with merely driving under an opponent’s pyramid if you’re not touching it. Obviously, if you nick an opponent on the way in/out that’s touching the pyramid, that’s a large penalty.
There’s also nothing wrong with driving under the pyramid and touching it, as long as you do not affect a robot’s climb, or their ability to climb. That’s what the head ref at CVR told me, anyway.
thecakeisalie, please read the previous reply again.
if they are blockading, and not touching the pyramid, you can sneak through, as long as you understand that if the refs think that your action is consequential per the Q/A answer and per the Ref’s judgement, you will get penalized.
Siri’s answer is correct. You can do it, but be careful. Know the rules for questioning a match result (Question Box), and be prepared with printed rules if needed. Also look at the rules regarding blockading and stopping the flow of the match.
Large? Well, I suppose it depends on your definition of large, but non-purposeful and inconsequential G30s are just standard 3-point fouls. Note this is for G30, touching an opponent touching their pyramid, and stands regardless of who initiates contact.
This is G27, touching the opposing pyramid, concerning which you would be correct about the large penalty. If deemed consequential, G27 is always a technical foul. If you interfere with a climb, it also results in a 30 point climb for them and a red card for you. However, note that G30 in general applies whether or not the opponent is climbing. You can still get a technical (though not a red card) for hitting the pyramid while consequentially interfering with an opponent shooting (or in thirty, doing anything else that can be ruled consequential). As to whether pyramid contact has to be consequential or just the interference as a whole…good question. I wish the GDC had answered my Q&A on that.
As to your blocking scenario, yes, assuming that’s all you or they do, and the pyramid opponents are not otherwise engaged in behavior that you consequentially interfere with…like say, shooting. In other news, if they’re actually inhibiting the flow of the match like this, that’s a whole nother kettle of fish, namely a G25 on them.