Quebec FIRST

I am currently a student attending McGill University and while I was looking through the FIRST website, I noticed a severe lack of teams in the Quebec region and to be more specific, there is only 1 team in all of QC. Meanwhile Ontario has 59 teams.

What can explain this drastic difference and how can it be resolved?

the crazy summers are to blame.

oh and other factors as well? :stuck_out_tongue:

FIRST grew like crazy in Ontario first because of how successful the GTR event became, quickly becoming the largest regional in FIRST. I can’t speak on behalf of the Quebec FIRSTers (296), but I imagine now that 296 is a World Championship Winning team we should see some growth in Quebec. I also hope to see some growth in Western Canada soon, the need for more engineers out in Alberta is HUGE right now.

Yeah… the GTR makes a huge difference. Not only does it mean that a good chunk of Canada’s population can drive to the competition… and in many cases drive home at the end of the day… but it also gives sponsors and supporters a chance to get involved and see just how valuable their support is.

I have great admiration and respect for those who brought FIRST to Ontario and nurtured its growth there. With luck, we might do the same here in BC one day.

See you in Toronto again,

Jason

One reason for this that I’m aware of is that there is a local robotics competition (called “CRC Robotics”, or something like that) in Montreal that a large number of high schools and CEGEPs participate in. I know that a few high schools have looked into the possibility of joining FIRST, but with the nearest regionals being five to six hours away, and with the extremely high cost of starting a regional of their own, they decided to go with the much cheaper local alternative.

There used to be a second team in Québec (1129, IIRC) but they only stuck around for 2003.

1. Toronto Regional
  2. Veteran Team Mentors