Question on volume during a match.

I am from team 3160, we were wondering if a robot, that did not fully take up the volume of its selected box, could reach out into the rest of the volume. For example, If a robot’s selected preference was the 36x40x24 box, but it only took up 30 inches of the selected 40. Would the robot only 5 inches available to either side or would it be within the rules for the robot to have an arm of 10 inches on either side if only one extended at a time.

In the future, please make sure you search through the threads already on here before making a new one.