Questions about Implementation of State-Space Models in Java

I am a programmer, exploring the full capabilities of WPILib and implementing new things in our team’s code. I saw state-space models and I am trying to control systems like a flywheel and turret with it. However, I am not sure how to tune the model. With PID Controllers, there are 3-4 values to change and you can change it based on how it reaches your target on a graph. With state-space models, I am unsure on how to get a visualization of the Kalman filter’s predicted output so that I can compare it to the real output. This would allow me to tune the filter. I’m looking to create a chart similar to what’s on this page.

I am also confused on how to tune the relms and qelms in the LinearSystemLoop. As stated in this page, changing the relms and qelms inversely can cause the same output. Therefore, how will I know which one to change based on the controller trying to reach the setpoint?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

4 Likes

When I was mentoring 3512, we used state-space, and we logged basically everything (#logallthethings). In particular, we pushed the references, state estimates, measurements, and control inputs to NetworkTables and plotted them in real time on the Glass dashboard. We also logged everything to CSV for diagnostics in Python afterward.

That docs page is incorrect. Multiplying q by 10 does not have the same effect as dividing r by 10. I’ll submit a PR to fix it.

The way I recommend tuning the tolerances is setting r to your max voltage, then choosing a desired q tolerance as a starting point (e.g., 5 rad/s). If the controller oscillates, increase the tolerance until the oscillation stops. Measurement delay is the most common cause of oscillation with otherwise optimal gains. See Debugging State-Space Models and Controllers — FIRST Robotics Competition documentation for more about that.