<G46> BALL Penetration Restriction – The BALL must not extend more than 3 inches inside the FRAME PERIMETER as defined in Rule <R19>. Violation: PENALTY for a basic infraction, plus a YELLOW CARD if no immediate attempt to remedy.
I think that it is legal for the ball to extend more than 3" inside of the robot above the bumper perimeter, however, I think this would count as possession since the ball probably would not be touching the ground anymore.
I know Rules are the most important, but the comment after <G46> is a little confusing to me.
“A BALL trapped under a ROBOT, intentionally or unintentionally, will be considered POSSESSED until it is dislodged from the ROBOT. Teams are encouraged to design and drive with this in mind.”
Does that mean the balls are able/allowed to go farther under than the 3 inches so long as they are underneath the robot rather than in/on it? I wouldn’t think this would be allowed based on <G46> and <R19>, clarification would be appreciated.
It seems one has only violated <G45> if they have grabbed it above the BUMPER ZONE or lifted it off the carpet. I would think that as long as you keep it under 2 seconds and keep it on the ground, you could have up to six inches of interaction.