Rack and Pinion Style Robot.

Hello Everyone,

I am pretty new to all of this robotics stuff, I am more of a car person. So when my school’s robotics team was showing me their previous robots and some other team’s creations I noticed that all of them had a 6 or 4 wheel skid steer set-up. Now using my previous experiences I wondered why no other team uses rack and pinion steering like a car I mean its durable, also using four wheel steering like the Gmc Quadrasteer you can turn on a dime just like skid steering.

Thanks in advance to any responders.

image008.jpg

image008.jpg

It’s also called Ackerman(n) steering and you should be able to find some threads using the search function found above. Ackerman limits your maneuverability and adds unnecessary complexity to a robot that would be more maneuverable with a much simpler tank drive.

I’m also going to beat SuperNerd in welcoming you aboard!

With a 6wd dropped center, you could literally spin centered above a dime. I’ve never seen a car come anywhere near a 0 turning radius.

Teams have done it, but it’s not as favorable. You don’t get as much pushing power with 2 motors powering the bot, and you can’t maneuver as fluidly as other drives. We used this in 2008, if memory serves correct, and it didn’t work out so well.

Since you’re a car guy, I’ll put it like this. In a pushing match between 2 cars. both with the same weight, traction, and motors, who would win: A standard car, or a car with power to every wheel? Or a car with more wheels and power to them, for that matter.

Also, which is more maneuverable: A standard car, or a wheelchair?

Hope this helps!

WELCOME!

Ninja, this is what a welcome is like. :cool:

phooey on you.

WELCOME!

how’s that?

Eh, could be better. :wink: The colors make it distracting to read and take away from the reader’s interest.

There are some glimpses of a nice little Ackerman steering lapbot (2261) in this video from Colorado 2008.