On page 14 of the game manual, there are the guidelines for how to earn ranking points.
It states, “Alliances are seeded in the Qualification tournament using ranking points which are awarded based on a combination of their Win-Loss-Tie record (2 points for a win, 1 point for a tie), the number of times they reach a 40 kiloPascal (kPa) pressure threshold (1 point), and the number of times they start all rotors (1 point).”
I am very confused about the points for KiloPsacals. Does this state that every time you get 40 Kilopascals you get a ranking point or do you just get it the first time you get 40?
Thanks for the help in advance and good luck from team 5980!
I too would agree. The game manual seems to contradict it self.
Section three reads as follows
Alliances are seeded in the Qualification tournament using ranking points which are awarded based on a combination of their Win-Loss-Tie record (2 points for a win, 1 point for a tie),** the number of times they reach a 40 kilo Pascal (kPa) pressure threshold** (1 point), and the number of times they start all rotors (1 point).
correct me if I’m wrong but it would appear that according to this every 40kPa earns a ranking point.
However, Table 4-1 says
If ALLIANCE exceeds a threshold pressure of 40 kPa - 1 RP
This implies that you can only receive 1 RP at most through means of pressure.
I would say it is at least 40kPa, based on the fact that the rule states “at least” while a summary table paraphrases and uses another word. I would consider the summary table to be a helpful reference to the rule, with the rule holding the actual authority on the matter.
We were working on the assumption that the RP’s from shooting are technically unlimited as stated on page 14, although they would be limited by the 4 balls/second processing speed of the boiler. Why else would the 40 kPa only be worth 20 points in the playoffs when getting all the rotors turning is worth 100 points in the playoffs? That seems pretty unbalanced unless you get the 20 points for every 40 kPa, in which case it makes perfect sense.
We’ll submit a question to the Q&A when it opens, but hopefully FIRST will clarify before then because it’s a pretty important strategy decision.
What just about everyone in this thread has said so far, what my interpretation of the rules says, and what my inner voice of (rarely) common sense says is that your assumption is incorrect. I think this will either be clarified soon via update or via Q&A, but I highly doubt that you can earn more than one RP from scoring Fuel.