re: extended arm

Posted by Patrick Seeney.

Student on team #469, Las Guerrillas, from Oakland Robotics and Lawrence Technological University.

Posted on 1/14/2000 11:51 AM MST

Here is a question that our team has been debating. We have been trying to come up with different ways to get on to the pole, one of them is to have a 1 foot (approx.) grappling hook on the end so that it can be fired over the pole and then pulled tight with tension, enabling us to be pulled up. Now my question is, does this count as a projectile? OR not, the peice never actually departs with our robot.

Pat

Posted by Marc DeSchamp.

Other on team #125, someone who remembers Ramp N Roll, from Northeastern University and Textron Systems with the kids from Boston Latin School, Brookline High, and Milton Academy.

Posted on 1/14/2000 12:15 PM MST

In Reply to: re: extended arm posted by Patrick Seeney on 1/14/2000 11:51 AM MST:

I would say that it doesn’t count as a projectile, so long as it is tethered to the machine. I would be careful about how you launch the hook (and I would probably ask FIRST too, just to be safe), but my guess would be that it is legal.

Posted by Joe Johnson.   [PICTURE: SAME | NEW | HELP]

Engineer on team #47, Chief Delphi, from Pontiac Central High School and Delphi Automotive Systems.

Posted on 1/14/2000 1:03 PM MST

In Reply to: Re: re: extended arm posted by Marc DeSchamp on 1/14/2000 12:15 PM MST:

I would guess that such a device would be ruled as an entanglement threat and would be ruled illegal.

Joe J.

Posted by Patrick Seeney.

Student on team #469, Las Guerrillas, from Oakland Robotics and Lawrence Technological University.

Posted on 1/14/2000 1:18 PM MST

In Reply to: watch for entanglement violations posted by Joe Johnson on 1/14/2000 1:03 PM MST:

: I would guess that such a device would be ruled as an entanglement threat and would be ruled illegal.

: Joe J.

That is what we were worried about, however we planned on launching it using the pnematics. The pneumatics would take it out about 10 inches, and then it would come off at the end, so it would not be shotting at random, it would be guided by the pneumatics, but i am still questoining if it would illegal? Could someone please clarify one more time.

Thanks
Pat

Posted by Joe Johnson.   [PICTURE: SAME | NEW | HELP]

Engineer on team #47, Chief Delphi, from Pontiac Central High School and Delphi Automotive Systems.

Posted on 1/14/2000 6:09 PM MST

In Reply to: Re: watch for entanglement violations posted by Patrick Seeney on 1/14/2000 1:18 PM MST:

I just read Update #2, it seems to dis-allow this kind of mechanism, but perhaps not. Read the update carefully to see if your machanism is legal. 10 inches seems like a very low risk of entanglement. Perhaps it would be okay.

Read carefully.

Joe J.

Posted by Bob Gerngross.

Engineer on team #433 from Mount St. Joseph’s Academy and Pew Foundation Scholarship.

Posted on 1/15/2000 1:05 AM MST

In Reply to: Re: watch for entanglement violations posted by Patrick Seeney on 1/14/2000 1:18 PM MST:

: : I would guess that such a device would be ruled as an entanglement threat and would be ruled illegal.

: : Joe J.

: That is what we were worried about, however we planned on launching it using the pnematics. The pneumatics would take it out about 10 inches, and then it would come off at the end, so it would not be shotting at random, it would be guided by the pneumatics, but i am still questoining if it would illegal? Could someone please clarify one more time.

: Thanks
: Pat

Rookie Team 433 here,
Regardless of length, tether, or definition of a projectile, wouldn’t ANY object that was launched, shot, or forced out as described need to be done so by an ‘Energy releasing’ object that would need to be released at a rate that is faster than it was stored? I believe the ‘releaseing of energy’ must be done so at ‘no more than the same rate it was stored’, there by violating the rules.?
Probabaly not, thats why Iim a rookie.
Catch Ya
Bob G

Posted by Daniel.

Coach on team BORG (Berkeley Operational Robotics Group) from Berkeley High School sponsored by (working on the sponsor, too).

Posted on 1/14/2000 1:26 PM MST

In Reply to: re: extended arm posted by Patrick Seeney on 1/14/2000 11:51 AM MST:

Hey guys,

I asked Eric that very question a little while ago. Here is my question and his responce:

======
Question:

Tethered Projectiles

According to S7, the only projectiles a robot is allowed to launch are balls. How do we define projectiles? For example, say a robot is designed to shoot a grappling hook onto the center bar. Since the hook is tethered, would this be considered a projectile? Would it be in violation of DA4? What precautions would need to be taken to eliminate this problem? For example, the hook could be attached to the end of telescoping tubing that causes it to move in a linear path, which makes it more like an elevator powered by surgical tubing.

=====
Answer:

We will use a common-sense definition of a projectile. To attempt to put that into words, it would be something as follows: A projectile is an unsupported object that goes flying out from the robot and follows a parabolic path. A flying grappling hook would be considered a projectile even though it might be attached to the robot with a tether cord. The tether would prevent it from violating Rule DA4, but might present a risk of entanglement and violate Rule M18.

Putting a hook on the end of a telescoping tube would mean that it is not interpreted as a projectile. The hook itself would then need to be designed so as not to present a risk of entanglement or have sharp points that would present a safety hazard.

-Eric

Posted by Matt.

Student on team #69, HYPER, from North Quincy High School and Gillette.

Posted on 1/16/2000 9:44 AM MST

In Reply to: re: extended arm posted by Patrick Seeney on 1/14/2000 11:51 AM MST:

: Here is a question that our team has been debating. We have been trying to come up with different ways to get on to the pole, one of them is to have a 1 foot (approx.) grappling hook on the end so that it can be fired over the pole and then pulled tight with tension, enabling us to be pulled up. Now my question is, does this count as a projectile? OR not, the peice never actually departs with our robot.

: Pat

If you miss, you must reel it in a.s.a.p., to prevent entanglement violations. If you can get a transcript of the kick-off, someone asked a question like that and entanglement violations came up. But don’t let this deter you from using the grappling hook