I’m trying to figure out what crossing the boundary plane of the Rendezvous Point volume while climbing does to scoring and penalties. If a robot swings while climbing and briefly swings out of their own Rendezvous, but then settles before the buzzer and does not cross the plane again, there is no penalty, right? It’s fully contained within the volume. G14 seems to be the only relevant rule I can find on this point. Would appreciate guidance.
Per G17, you merely need to be intersecting the alliance’s rendezvous point not contained by it.
Correct you are. 4.4.4 defines a hang without reference to the vertical plane as well. As long as I ain’t touching an opposing robot in their own Rendezvous, I should be okay it seems. Thanks!
G14. During the ENDGAME, don’t touch ROBOTS in their RENDEZVOUS POINT. During the
ENDGAME, a ROBOT may not contact, either directly or transitively through a POWER CELL, an
opponent ROBOT whose BUMPERS are completely contained in its RENDEZVOUS POINT and not
in contact with its GENERATOR SWITCH.
G15. During the ENDGAME, don’t mess with HANGING opponents. During the ENDGAME, a
ROBOT may not contact, either directly or transitively through a POWER CELL, an opponent’s
ROBOT that is contacting its GENERATOR SWITCH and not in their opponent’s RENDEZVOUS
G17. Tall ROBOTS not allowed. ROBOT height, as measured when it’s resting normally on a flat
floor, may not exceed 45 in. (~114 cm) above the carpet during the MATCH, with the exception of
ROBOTS intersecting their ALLIANCE’S RENDEZVOUS POINT during the ENDGAME.
These are the three rules which appear to be relevant.
If a ROBOT is hanging from the HANDLE, and swinging violently such that part of the ROBOT leaves the RENDEZVOUS POINT, there will be no penalty by G17:
with the exception of ROBOTS intersecting their ALLIANCE’S RENDEZVOUS POINT
However, if by swinging from the HANDLE, your ROBOT contacts an opponent ROBOT entirely inside their RENDEZVOUS POINT, you will be assessed a penalty per G14 or G15.
At any rate, it’s not obvious to me that a ROBOT actually can swing far enough for this to be an issue.
This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.