Return Numbers?

Does anybody know the percentage of rookie FRC teams from 2010 that returned in 2011. I am curious because I am a mentor of a rookie team that was sponsored by JC Penney. It is my understanding that they will be looking for new group of rookies to sponsor for FRC 2012. If many of the teams do not return for year #2, I question the value of providing rookie year only sponsorships–are we really growing FIRST if teams do not return. I would like to know last years return number so that we can compare them to next year’s return numbers–this will allow us to know the real impact of the rookie grants. Also, please share your thoughts about rookie grants. We are EXTREMLY GRATEFUL for JC Penney’s role it helping us get started. However, we are really struggling to find permanent sponsors.

I personally have my thoughts that need to still be developed, however Early on in the 2nd hour (forgive me for not having specific times) the guys on FIRSTcast had a discussion about this, and it was a pretty good talk. I’d highly recommend you go take a listen.

Check out this thread, a lot of useful information.

Sponsorship is never a guaranteed thing year to year and you have to be prepared for the inevitable day when you lose a major sponsor.

There are many threads and papers here on CD about fundraising, sponsorship, sustainability. Check them out now and start working on finding funding for next year.

I know that some of the teams with a JCPenney sponsorship have developed relationships with the store that sponsored them. The relationships you build with your sponsors could determine if they continue to sponsor your team and at what level. Remember that sponsorship is more than just a company giving your team money. Work with the store, help drive business their way, talk with the employees, its a two way street.