REV Encoder Programming Help

Our programmer was trying to get a PID loop to work, but was having issues with the motor (NEO) not stopping at the correct point. Now he is trying to make the motor move to a specific position when a button is pushed (not in a PID loop); however, when he runs the program it still overshoots the target and doesn’t stop turning. The motor is attached to a 100:1 gearbox.

He has code written to get the value of the encoder and update it as the motor turns, and from what I can tell he is using that to compare to the value he wants the motor to go to, but it isn’t working.

In my mind, it seems like it should be a simple program, but I’m not a programmer. Any ideas? He is using Java

1 Like

Could you post sample code?

Are you calculating the distance correctly? The encoder tracks the rotations of the motor, and not the distance of the wheel. Here’s what we’re doing to get the distance for our robot:

public double getAverageEncoderDistance(){
    double positionConversionFactor = Math.PI * Constants.Drive.wheelDiameter / Constants.ROBOT_CONSTANTS.GEAR_RATIO;
    return ((frontLeftEncoder.getPosition() * positionConversionFactor) + (frontRightEncoder.getPosition()* positionConversionFactor)) / 2;
  }

If this doesn’t help, could you show me your code for how you’re trying to do this? I highly recommend using SmartDashboard to display values so you can see what your code is outputting.

1 Like

I suggest using a PID. If it overshoots tune the P, then I, and finally D.

I second this. A PID is very helpful in accurately and efficiently moving to the target. However, make sure the robot is first correctly trying to stop before implementing something else.

True, there have been so many times that the robot zoomed when I was playing around with PathPlanner. The issue was that I had a wrong encoder pulses per revolution value :sweat_smile:.
Edit: I put 4096 instead of 2048, imagine that…