REV Sparks or Vex Victor 888?

Hello all, I’m a brand new FRC rookie, and I was wondering, what are the advantages/disadvantages of using the REV Spark instead of using the VEX Victor 888’s?

The Victors are a previous generation speed controller. We basically used them for over a decade with great success as the only legal speed controller (when they were the 883s & 884s). The Rev Spark is a new speed controller that is designed to be inexpensive while still giving some of the benefits of new technology like not needing a fan to actively cool it and allowing you to use limit switches directly with the speed controller to add feedback to your mechanisms. We have a few of the Sparks in house have tested them a bit, they seem to be working well so far.

You won’t be able to purchase any Victors, what teams already have and what are available in FIRST Choice will be the last of the 888s. The Sparks are available on Amazon and ship prime so you can get them quickly if you need a replacement.

Sparks! They are on Amazon and prime compatible which is awesome. Also I believe victor 888’s are discontinued. We are going to be using Sparks and Victor Sp’s this year.

REV Spark
-Passive cooling
-Reduced heat generation
-Mechanical limit switch inputs, so no need to program that stuff
-RGB status LED, which I hear is really nice
-Brake/coast mode
-PWM only
-Currently priced at $45.00
-Available on Amazon and Amazon Prime
-Haven’t been around long, so I can’t speak to long-term reliability just yet

Victor 888
-A staple motor control, performs every basic function you could want
-No passive cooling; you need to wire up fans otherwise the motor controllers can overheat
-Really finnicky trying to get all the wires in the right place
-PWM only
-$70.00
-Discontinued by VEX; you would be hard pressed to find a lot of these

Victor SP
-Passive cooling
-Reliable
-You don’t have to fiddle with screws trying to get crimps on the controller (this is a godsend)