REV vs. CTRE Coding

With the drop of falcons, one of the biggest reason people are buying them (in my opinion) is the CTRE coding libraries that are not applicable to neos. As a team that currently has little programming experience with implementing any fancy code with encoders or smart motion, I was wondering what the difference is for a team that has not built up the experience with CTRE. This year we want to start automating more of our teleop tasks and creating more complex autons (if auton is a part of the game :wink:). How difficult is it to learn/implement smart motion for both the rev and ctre ecosystems? Also I am asking because this is a factor for us in the Neos vs Falcons debate.

Disclaimer - I am not a programmer

1 Like

I think that some of the arguments for buying Falcon 500s over the NEOs simply due to the API have been blown out of proportion. Both the CTRE and REV APIs support a lot of the same features (i.e. position control, velocity control, and one-dimensional trapezoid motion profiling). Although the API calls may be different, we have verified that features on both motor controllers are functionally equivalent.

The Spark MAX API is missing some “advanced” features such as 2D motion profiling, although it’s really not a good idea to run 2D motion profiling algorithms, which utilize several motors, as an onboard motor controller control loop.

Furthermore, WPILib in 2020 will support several of these “smart” features, including trapezoid motion profiles and trajectory tracking out of the box, so teams can run their control loops on the roboRIO. This also means that the code is no longer a “black box”, meaning that students can read the source and understand what’s going on behind those API calls.