Does anyone know if at any time your robot’s arm or wings can extend outside of the 72" restriction and then come to rest inside the 72"?
When you’re in your home zone, yes, you may extend however far you want.
Home zone only. Not sure I’d go in, unfold, and go out. Stay in the 72" box if possible if you’ll be deploying/undeploying often.
You are not allowed to think outside of the box,
but you are allowed to think diagonally in the box.
I don’t understand what people keep saying about diagonally in the box. The only way that is possible is if your arm is on an angle from the rest of your bot, and to what advantage would that give you. Its not like when your robot moves in said box that the box doesnt move with it. You are confined to the box no matter what way you face. So your arm can’t be any further out than 72 inches unless the arm itself is diagonal from your robot, which to me seems pretty pointless.
Actually, the box doesn’t have to move with the robot. Putting the robot diagonally in the box is entirely possible–you define where your robot is in relation to the box, not the inspector. Quoth the GDC:
If you can fit the whole thing, robot and all, into a 72" square, your arm can be as far out as you want. In theory, it could go as far out as 101 inches and change, under the Pythagorean Theorem. (Obviously, there are other variables afoot in that, like fitting the rest of your robot.)
If I am reading this correctly I believe you are incorrect. It is a 72" square at ALL times you aren’t in the home zone. I am unsure what you have read to lead you to believe that this will allow you to just fit the bot in the 72" square once and then extend to a 101" later on in the match.
Put your robot in one corner of the 72" square box and rotate it 45 degrees, so it is facing the opposite corner of the box.
Now do you see how it can be more than 72" long?
i think someone should draw a picture of this .
that thar’s some gud drawin skil!
Originally Posted by GDC
The intent of Rule <R12> is that the robot must be able to fit within a 72" x 72" virtual box at all times. The orientation of the robot within the box is inconsequential
inconsequent: lacking worth or importance.
By this defination the orientation of the robot does not have an importance or worth. Therefore it doesn’t matter which way the robot faces it would still be out of the box. Just think about it, if they meant it. they would have to give everyone a direction in which this virtual box faces.
Orginally posted by shamuwong
Actually, the rule book specifically tells teams not to “lawyer” the rules and such. By that, they mean stick to the spirit of the competition and don’t look for loopholes to get the advantage through devious game play.I think innovation refers not to creativity in interpreting the rules, but rather, the game.
Don’t read too much into it. 72 inches is 72 inches regardless of what way you face your robot.
My interpretation of the rule is that as long as you can take your fully extended robot and put it in a 72x72 inch box (regardless of robot orientation), you’re legal.
I think FIRST needs to make some clarifications.
I agree FIRST needs to clearify this, because some people might try this diagonal approach, personally, I would rather be safe than sorry
They did. Here.
this quote has been posted many times. Yet there is still room for inturptations more clearification is needed
It’s about as clear as can be…you have a 6 foot square box to fit your robot into. You can have it aligned diagonally, straight, or whatever way you want. That’s what “the orientation of the robot within the box is inconsequential” means.
Fair enough… I’m just trying to be on the safe side. I don’t want be Dq’d for something as small as that lol.