Robot Height Rule Clarification

This may seem like a silly question, but we truly can’t figure out the answer from the rules…
The robot can only be 55 inches tall before the start of the match, but, can it extend up 16 inches when the match starts, or can it only extend 16 inches horizontally?? Any clarification would be helpful. We don’t want to get to competition with a wrong interpretation.

You’ll find several other threads about ROBOT height in the Search feature:

https://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/search.php?searchid=8701016