Robotics in Afterschool Programs?

Need some help from the FIRST community on this one. I have been working in an after school program for 2 years and was always thinking of a way to bring some form of robotics to the students that I work with. Like many education programs, it is challenging and difficult to raise money to fund opportunities for students to learn about science and technology. However, through our state after school program coalition, I have an opportunity through a $2,000 grant to start a robotics initiative at my after school programs The problem is I don’t know where to start. I don’t know what robotic projects are out there that are aim at ages 5-13. Yes, I know about FIRST Lego League but I don’t it really know how it works through construction, programming, and developing robot.

My ideal goal is to……

• start some kind of robotics program
  • 	open to students ages 5-13

• 	something that will appeal to almost all of the students

• 	simple for students to understand and have fun while my fellow co-workers will also be 			able to learn and help with teaching the students and also have fun as well

So this is when I ask the CD community for help. I need help in choosing a robotics program that within a $2,000 budget. Like with all grants, I need to submit a application with a two page essay with how the money will be spent and how it will improve the quality of the after school program, provide a time line for completion of this project and anticipated results, and a budget sheet with the breakdown of items purchased and their cost.

If anyone could provide any advice, it would be tremulously greatly appreciated.

VEX is aimed at highschoolers but can be very east with some help. VEX gives students designing, building, programming, and of course bugfixing, and it is in your budget range depending on how many kits you want to buy.

if you feel it is too expensive or out of your budget range