Rookie Teams - What is the biggest Mechanical Design Challenge many of you face?

I am in a PLTW EDD class, and in the class, the assignment is to come up with a problem, and to use the principles of engineering to solve the problems, whether that means inventing/innovating something, surveying something, or using other engineering means to solve the problem. As a FIRST student, I want to give back to the community by designing a mechanism to be broadly available to teams, including a rookie team that may not have the mentor teams to help them. I do have some ideas, but I would love to see others. They don’t have to be completely mechanical problems, but they do need to be things that are not specific to one design, and something that veteran teams may have the resources to design and rookie teams might not.

2 Likes

I’m not all that in-touch with the current batch of rookie teams, so I’m not all that qualified to answer your questions. However, I’d like to help out anyone else who was stumped by the acronym:

PLTW EDD: Project Lead The Way - Engineering Design and Development
PLTW is an educational program, and EDD is a class within that program.

Your project sounds like a great one, good luck on it!

Almost every rookie team, and some veteran teams :wink:, struggle with wire management for their electronics. A mechanical system for organizing wires and allowing for easy access would be cool. Maybe 3D printed parts that easily snap together? Sized specifically around common FRC parts?

9 Likes

Who? I don’t know anyone like that.
*cough*

If somebody makes this, we will use it. Wire management is hard.

1 Like

This thread has a good example of 3d-printed wire management parts.

2 Likes

Welcome to Chief Delphi!