Rule Clarification for Section 5.3

For section 5.3, how do you interpret #1 for the climb? “The robots bumpers are fully above the Level’s platform.” Does this mean directly above the 4 foot square of the hab platform, or anywhere in the hab zone high enough to be 22 inches above the floor? If it is only the square platform, then that could restrict some of the climbing methods.


Well, nothing in the rules that I have seen specifically say that you have to be in the vertical zone of any given HAB level. And given that as the robot in question has to be supported (directly or indirectly) by the HAB level they are trying to climb to… I doubt we have to be in the vertical zone, it just sounds too restrictive to me… But this may be worth a Q&A question.


For the purposes of assessing SANDSTORM and HAB Climb Bonuses described in Table 4-1, a ROBOT is considered to have started from, or climbed to, a HAB Level if:

  1. the ROBOT’S BUMPERS are fully above the Level’s platform and
  2. the ROBOT is only supported by:
    o surfaces of the HAB at or above that Level,
    o ALLIANCE WALL, and/or
    o another ROBOT which has climbed to that HAB Level or higher

I believe #2 means that you can’t just go into the hab zone and pick yourself up 22 inches.

Yeah. I’m just asking for ramp or lifter type bots, or any way that just climbed onto the wall.

See rule G23, what I assume means you must be entirely over the line and you cannot be in Hab zone 1 and lift vertically to zone 3

I think you are misunderstanding what the HAB ZONE is. The glossary of the game manual defines HAB ZONE as:

an infinitely tall volume defined by the guardrail, ALLIANCE WALL, and the HAB LINE. The HAB ZONE includes the HAB LINE.

That is, the different level platforms are ALL contained in the HAB ZONE.

You are correct, and thank you for the clarification :slight_smile:


I originally read it the second way (sufficient inches off the floor), but within the vertical prism defined by that level’s platform also makes sense. Definitely a Q&A. If the vertical prism, it makes the “drive into level 2 fast enough that you fall forward onto it, then push up 4 inches” approach to a climb much less appealing.

1 Like

Ditto. I can see it being read either way, but if you read it as not within the vertical prism, that opens the door to a lot of creative “I’m up, why didn’t I get the L3 points even though I’m clearly only on L1?”


If NOT the vertical prism, the robot still has to be:

  • fully in the HAB zone,
  • with bumpers fully above the appropriate altitude
  • supported only by a combination of: appropriate level or higher; the alliance wall; a robot at that level

Any robot meeting all of these criteria isn’t “on” a lower level, merely “over” it.

Rule R34 in section 10.6 allows a set list of motor variants “in any quantity”. Does this mean motors are not limited in amount?


1 Like

Correct on “no limit to motors”. However, there is a practical limit imposed by the number of breakers supported by the one PDP (R47), that only one motor controller can be on each breaker (R59), and that only one “large” motor or two “small” motors can be on each controller (R37).

Though, when posting a question this much different than the topic, you should create a new topic rather than reply in the topic.

What I was trying to get at was that I can see teams trying to argue that per the rules they should get the L3 points, despite only being over/on L1, because they were high enough. I’ve seen enough teams try that sort of thing… The theory I was operating under was a robot with lifters (1717 from 2007 is the one that immediately jumps to my mind) pops up from L1 to high enough for L3 but doesn’t go over L3 in X, Y tries that.

Of course they’d be wrong, and only get L1, but for some teams, they’ll press ahead anyways.

My team is confused as well. I guess we have to wait for the Q&A to come out. Hopefully very very soon.

IMO pending Q&A it seems that if robot A is on L3 any robots they lift above L3 height plane would count as both above and supported by Robot A who in turn is supported solely by L3 and they too would be transitively supported solely by L3