If you are, say climbing the tower and are tilted up(example: http://i.imgur.com/lAv10.jpg) , you are still judged on you horizontal length, not you robot length. So you could have say, a claw that extends out, and increases the total length of the robot (diagonally) past 54 inches, but still remain under 54 inches measured horizontally, would you get penalized for having a robot longer than 54 inches.
I say no, you are within 54 inches horizontally, my teammates say yes, your length is over 54 inches, no matter the orientation of the robot. What says Delphi?
What Delphi says doesn’t matter. What the official Q&A says matters. Have your team utilize the official Q&A for clarification for official and specific rules questions such as this one.
“3.2.5.2 G23
A ROBOT’S horizontal dimensions may never exceed a 54 in. diameter vertical cylinder.
Violation: FOUL. If continuous or repeated violations, TECHNICAL FOUL.
In other words, a ROBOT must always fit inside a cylinder with a diameter of 54 in. This method for restricting ROBOT size requires extra diligence if a ROBOT’S geometric center shifts as various appendages are extended and retracted.”
In the past with the same phrasing, the Q&A explained that these measurements were with respect to your robot rather than the field (ie if your robot was sitting flat, it would be within the cylinder). The GDC will need to issue a similar it contradictory ruling before this is known for 2013.
I was kind of hoping they’d address this upfront after last year’s chaos. :o
Also consider that if you increase the length of your robot by extending an appendage to 54", the width must be reduced to zero to allow it to fit within that cylinder to which the rule refers.
I’d be pretty darn surprised if he didn’t realize that. His statement still stands, though. Chief Delphi can speculate all they want, but ultimately what we think doesn’t matter (in this kind of situation, at least) - it’s the GDC that decides the game.
Not to say that we can’t help answer some questions: if it’s crystal clear in the rules (112" is 112" is 112" and that’s the maximum frame perimeter), we can quote those all we want. If there’s any ambiguity, we can speculate (though it is safer not to) but can’t give a firm answer.
Its a vertical cylinder meaning that he span 54 inches in 1 direction and span 54 inches in another direction as long as they still fit within the circle
I may be misunderstanding your statement, but you are treating the 54in as the diameter, not the radius, correct? (G23) If you extend a 54" appendage, as Bill correctly stated, your non-appendage width in that axis must be zero (which is impossible). You may extend a total of 54" in multiple directions, provided those directions are not anti-parallel from a single point. The former refers to an outside-frame-perimeter appendage, while the latter means total robot length.
The rule states playing configuration when giving dimensions. If you read the glossary for playing configuration, it states this is dynamic and can change through the match. My suggestion? Don’t hang.cantilevered like in your picture, hang vertically and you can extended to 84"
G22 defines the robot height (60 or 84) in relation to the robot.
G23 defines the horizontal dimension of the robot. It does not specifically reference to the robot, but it could be taken as implied since G22 does.
It would seem that when climbing, the 54" cylinder & 84" height would be referenced to the robot. But as others have said, my opinion is not the one that matters.