RULE Question.

Posted by Matthew Probert at 2/10/2001 11:25 PM EST

Other on team #360, Rainier Roboteers, from Bellarmine Prep and University of Washington Electrical Engineering.

Has FIRST stopped responding to email queries?

Does anybody know if we are allowed to use the wall in front of the operator stations to fall against at the start of the match?

Posted by colleen - T190 at 2/11/2001 3:07 AM EST

Engineer on team #190, Gompei, from Massachusetts Academy of Math and Science and WPI.

In Reply to: RULE Question.
Posted by Matthew Probert on 2/10/2001 11:25 PM EST:

Just recently we were watching videos of last year and noticed a couple of teams who did that…

Seems to be no reason why not… nor a rule about it… of course provided that you don’t damage the field…

Posted by Chris Orimoto at 2/11/2001 3:11 AM EST

Student on team #368, Kika Mana, from McKinley High School and Nasa Ames/Hawaiian Electric/Weinberg Foundation.

In Reply to: RULE Question.
Posted by Matthew Probert on 2/10/2001 11:25 PM EST:

I think that the “starting” box on the field is away
from the operator station wall. (Or at least it was
last year…) The field dimensions haven’t changed
much either.

Standing up before a match is a good idea to
increase your total length on the ground…but I
doubt you can use the wall as a support.

Just my personal thoughts…

Chris, #368

Posted by Matt Leese at 2/11/2001 6:14 PM EST

Other on team #73, Tigerbolt, from Edison Technical HS and Alstom & Fiber Technologies & RIT.

In Reply to: RULE Question.
Posted by Matthew Probert on 2/10/2001 11:25 PM EST:

I’m not even sure if this is a rule this year (past years fuzzing with this years in my head) but I know it was illegal to interact with intentionally interacting with the playing field border in the past. I would assume that the player station would be considered the field boundary and that you couldn’t interact with it because of that rule. That of course assumes that this rule was in place…

Matt

Posted by Joe Johnson at 2/11/2001 9:45 PM EST

Engineer on team #47, Chief Delphi, from Pontiac Central High School and Delphi Automotive Systems.

In Reply to: Re: RULE Question.
Posted by Matt Leese on 2/11/2001 6:14 PM EST:

I agree with Matt.

I don’t have the rules here to quote chapter and verse,
but I seem to recall that only the bridge and barrier
are allowed to be intentionally reacted with/against.

I suppose that a legalistic interpretation would not
allow falling against the player station wall every
time out. But… I suppose you should ask FIRST to be
sure.

Joe J.

Posted by Matt Leese at 2/11/2001 10:00 PM EST

Other on team #73, Tigerbolt, from Edison Technical HS and Alstom & Fiber Technologies & RIT.

In Reply to: I agree…
Posted by Joe Johnson on 2/11/2001 9:45 PM EST:

: I agree with Matt.

Well that’s a first. :wink: Sorry, just had to say it.

Matt who argues too much for his own good…

Posted by nick237 at 2/11/2001 8:55 PM EST

Engineer on team #237, sie h2o bots, from Watertown high school ct and sieman co.

In Reply to: RULE Question.
Posted by Matthew Probert on 2/10/2001 11:25 PM EST:

What do you mean fall against…? are you refering to the robot falling against the wall at the start of the game or the players as they fall asleep from bordem.
nick237

: Has FIRST stopped responding to email queries?

: Does anybody know if we are allowed to use the wall in front of the operator stations to fall against at the start of the match?

Posted by Matthew Probert at 2/12/2001 7:06 PM EST

Other on team #360, Rainier Roboteers, from Bellarmine Prep and University of Washington Electrical Engineering.

In Reply to: RULE Question.
Posted by Matthew Probert on 2/10/2001 11:25 PM EST:

Thanks for all the input guys. Our rule person has not been able to get FIRST to respond, that is why I posted here.

Matt Probert