Posted by Matt Hugo.
Coach on team #397, K I T, from Flint Southwestern Academy and Delphi Automotive Systems.
Posted on 1/11/2000 9:58 AM MST
I’ve got two for everyone…
- If a robot is holding down a ball in the scoring rack that is holding down other balls in the scoring rack, do the other balls still count as scores?
and,
- How many balls will fit in the scoring rack at one time?
Posted by Jon.
Engineer on team #190, Gompei, from Mass Academy of Math and Science and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.
Posted on 1/11/2000 10:32 AM MST
In Reply to: scoring questions posted by Matt Hugo on 1/11/2000 9:58 AM MST:
: 1. If a robot is holding down a ball in the scoring rack that is holding down other balls in the scoring rack, do the other balls still count as scores?
>> SC1.1 Each alliance will receive one (1) point for each of their yellow balls that is within the goal and not in contact with their robot. Each alliance will receive five (5) points for each black ball that is within the goal and not in contact with their robot.
So if the robot is holding the ball down from above, the one(s) that it is touching, will not count, but the others should.
: 2. How many balls will fit in the scoring rack at one time?
>>Frank said at kickoff 48 when carefully packed.
Posted by Daniel.
Coach on team BORG (Berkeley Operational Robotics Group) from Berkeley High School sponsored by (working on the sponsor, too).
Posted on 1/11/2000 10:52 AM MST
In Reply to: Re: scoring questions posted by Jon on 1/11/2000 10:32 AM MST:
I would agree with you completely, but there’s something very confusing about that part of the rules. Accoding to SC1, any ball supported by the robot but not touching the robot should count. However, SC1 refers you to figure 1.2 on ball possitions and values. Figure 1.2 very clearly shows that any ball supported by the robot (I’m guessing this means if the robot were to be removed, it would fall out of scoring possition), does not count for your team. In fact, it states very clearly in bold up above the figure that ‘all balls in scoring possition cannot be in contact with or supported by your robot’. I don’t see the second part of that statement anywhere in the rules. Either I missed it or it’ll be in an update shortly.
Anyway, because of that, I’d have to say that if your robot is holding down a ball that’s holding down other balls, if the ‘other balls’ aren’t fully supported within the scoring tray you get no points for it.
Hard call…any other thoughts?
-DL
Posted by Jerry Eckert.
Engineer from Looking for a team in Raleigh, NC sponsored by .
Posted on 1/11/2000 10:59 AM MST
In Reply to: Re: scoring questions posted by Daniel on 1/11/2000 10:52 AM MST:
Good observation! If you haven’t done so already, please send it to Eric ([email protected]) for official clarification.
Jerry
: I would agree with you completely, but there’s something very confusing about that part of the rules. Accoding to SC1, any ball supported by the robot but not touching the robot should count. However, SC1 refers you to figure 1.2 on ball possitions and values. Figure 1.2 very clearly shows that any ball supported by the robot (I’m guessing this means if the robot were to be removed, it would fall out of scoring possition), does not count for your team. In fact, it states very clearly in bold up above the figure that ‘all balls in scoring possition cannot be in contact with or supported by your robot’. I don’t see the second part of that statement anywhere in the rules. Either I missed it or it’ll be in an update shortly.
: Anyway, because of that, I’d have to say that if your robot is holding down a ball that’s holding down other balls, if the ‘other balls’ aren’t fully supported within the scoring tray you get no points for it.
: Hard call…any other thoughts?
: -DL