Scoring ROBOTS having SCALED or CHALLENGED

A clarification question on scoring of scaling and challenge.
Rules state you receive 5 points for the challenge and 15 points for scaling.
If you challenge and scale do you recieve 20 points?
Or is it implied that you only get a total of 15 points by accomplishing both tasks?

Couldn’t the rules be interpreted either way? Depending on whether you’re a glass half full or half empty kind of person :smiley: :slight_smile: ::safety::

Rule 3.1.4

A ROBOT has CHALLENGED the TOWER if, at the conclusion of the MATCH, the ROBOT is fully supported by the TOWER, but hasn’t met the criteria for SCALING the TOWER.

You can’t scale without challenging as far as I can tell, and it literally states that challenging can not occur at the same time as scaling.

According to the Glossary of terms from the game manual:

CHALLENGE: an act performed by a ROBOT, such that at the conclusion of the MATCH, the ROBOT
is fully supported by the TOWER, but hasn’t met the criteria for SCALING the TOWER

This is an either/or scenario. You will not get scored for both when scaling.

Scaling is a per-robot score, so different robots on an alliance can choose to go for the scale or for the challenge. Then the combination of those points goes to the alliance score. But one robot can’t achieve both.