Scouting Advice? FTC to FRC help?

Hi there, I’m currently on a FTC team but recently began interested in watching local FRC competitions. This interests me a lot, but unfortunately I am newer to my robotics team and do not know a lot. A friend of mine explained scouting to me in detail a while back, but he lives farther away so I did not get to far. This is why I have come here for help.

I just have a few questions that I hope could be answered, thanks.

One question I have is are the types of drive trains that are used in FRC?
How can you tell what type drive train a robot is running just by looking at the robot?

Another question I have is about wheels. I just want to know more about the wheels used, and how each is different. (ex, omni, mecanum)

I’m new to the whole robotics scene in general, so please don’t be too rough on me for not knowing this stuff :smiley: Thanks again folks!

I can help you on drive trains.
Usually, from just observation, you can only determine if it’s a dual gearbox system or a holonomic setup.
If the robot rotates and goes forward at high speeds, it usually is a dual gearbox system.
If the robot can strafe (move side to side without rotation), it’s most likely a holonomic drive.

In a holonomic drive, you can have mecanum wheels or omni wheels.
Mecanum wheels have rollers positioned at 45 degree angles on the wheels, and will overcome the motors when they are moving against each other.
Omniwheels have free spinning rollers, and operate similarly to mecanum except you have to set it up in an “x” orientation as opposed to the regular wheel configuration to mecanum wheels. You can also use 5 omniwheels and set it up as a regular wheel configuration with the 5th driven in the center of the bot.

Thanks, this helped a lot. How about west coast/jump/swerve drive trains? Are there any others?

WCD is a 2 gearbox type of drivetrain.