Scouting thoughts from a Rookie team (please comment)

Hi all,
As a Rookie team coach I trying to employ the spirit with my team of continuous improvement and focus our energy on what is in our control. Our team’s First competition was the weekend in Livonia and we very proud of our results. No we didn’t always the perfect alliance :wink: We gave a powerhouse one of their 2 losses and won 2 events we were predicted to lose by a landslide.
Our Robot and driver strengths are :
*A very solid catching robot (human player could throw an inaccurate and/or violate pass to us and we ALWAYS caught it). We also never lost a ball when being hit by others.

• We could easily pass to another robot in a controlled manner.
  • We can score the low goal with ease. (We didn’t do it very often due to our role on alliances of an inbonder)
  • Our defensive ability of our drivers were some of the reasons why we gave some powerhouses a loss.
  • We also NEVER caused a foul point in any of our rounds and had eltorros on the front. (This is a point of pride for my team as the number of fouls occurring this year seemed pretty high )
  • Our robot had 100% uptime. Something we discovered was not always the case for even veteran teams.
  • We had a goalie blocker, but never used it. Reason: We were an extremely efficient and inbouding and very effective at “getting in the face” of other robots and limiting shooting opportunities from the field
    Note: The team is fairly confident they can catch a truss ball, but can’t find the opportunity to prove it on the field.

**Our robot weakness are:

• We can’t throw. (over truss or at high goal). LOW GOAL, Efficient catcher, and good assist robot were our goals. Being a good defender was a plus to our ability that we never planned for.
  • Auton only gets 5 pts. (We have plans to fix that and get a low goal auton score at next event.)